Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan unveils 2016 Line-up

San Pedro Calungsod Shrine – The party led by Former mayor Tomas Osmeña presented their candidates who will be running in the 2016 elections. Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan (BOPK) has been the dominant part in Cebu City politics for almost 30 years.  BOPK owns the majority in the current council despite being the opposition party.


The Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan candidates for 2016

Mayor: Tomas Osmeña 

Vice-Mayor: Nestor Archival – incumbent councilor

North District:

Congressman: Raul Del Mar – Reelectionist


  1. Alvin Arcilla – Reelectionist
  2. Alvin Dizon – Reelectionist
  3. Sisinio Andales – Reelectionist
  4. Nida Cabrera – Reelectionist
  5. Mary Ann delos Santos – Reelectionist
  6. Tejero Barangay Councilor Garry Lao
  7. Banilad Councilor Malou Tabar
  8. former vice mayor Joy Augustus Young

South District:

Congressman: Rodrigo Abellanosa – Reelectionist


  1. Margarita Osmeña – Reelectionist
  2. Eugenio Gabuya Jr.- Reelectionist
  3. Labangon Barangay Captain Victor Buendia 
  4. Mambaling Councilor Ann Vestil-Palomo
  5. Accountant Danilo Pacaña
  6. Former PBA player Bonel Balingit
  7. Radioman Alan “Goliat” Nacorda
  8. Former CENRO chief Randy Navarro

Despite losing many of their members to Team Rama, the Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan remains to be a formidable force in the 2016 elections. They might have lost some good men, but they also gained a solid ally in incumbent councilor Mary Ann de los Santos.  Tomas Osmeña never won an election in Lahug, the barangay that had De los Santos as their long-serving Barangay captain. The former mayor hopes to reverse his fortunes in one of the most populated barangays in the North District. De los Santos was the only non-member of Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan who won a council seat in the district in the 2013 elections. Councilor de los Santos ran under Team Rama of incumbent mayor Michael Rama who gave Osmeña his first election defeat in the 2013 elections.

Analysis: The North will be the strength of the Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan.  They have 5 incumbent councilors in the line-up. The five is joined by a former vice-mayor and two barangay councilors.  The vice-mayor candidate also comes from this district. The top 4 councilors in the district in the last elections are in the BOPK line-up.

BOPK suffered a lot of defections in the South. They still have councilors Margarita Osmeña and Eugenio Gabuya who finished first and third respectively, in the previous elections. The line-up will be up against a strong Team Rama slate that is filled with many former BOPK allies. It will be interesting to see who among the new faces can be carried by the Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan machinery to a seat in the new council.

The 2016 Cebu City elections will be another close fight. There are many familiar faces running from both sides and the there many new interesting personalities who can be in the next year’s council. If you are a resident of Cebu City, now is the best time to check your data at the COMELEC because each vote can make a difference in next year’s polls.


#iBlogforCBC, #CBClevelUP, #CBC30DayChallenge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *